Final Reflection

This semester has been my hardest semester within my educational career (so far). After watching the TEDTalks, it made me truly think about the project I chose to do. At the beginning I felt so strongly about the concept of connecting human to nature and making it one, however I was not sure how I was going to do that. So I started brainstorming about what I love about the outdoors, my passions that are related to it, and what I think needs to be seen most. At first I started out with Wildfires. In Southern California, this can and has been a big problem in the past. So I thought, “That’s it! That is hat I want to do!” A couple weeks later, I lost interest. And then I thought what else do I love about the wilderness. And that is when I figured it out. I love landscape photography. A photo that you can immerse yourself in, as if it were a window looking outside. That is what I wanted to create. I set on the path of different places in Southern California, my home, that I could catch on film. Along the way, I realized that landscape photography is not easy. I loved exploring too much and would catch myself without my camera at times or would see a shot and not take it because I was going to find a better one down the road. I also learned that I love black and white photography, but that I need to work on my B&W editing skills. I learned that you can never take too many photos and to always carry an extra battery and memory card. I learned that I need to take more time out of my schedule and to not be afraid to travel farther by myself. I learned that a semester goes by really fast, especially when its your last one. And I also learned that there are so many places to see right under our noses.

This project was one of my favorites, but not my best, because it truly opened my eyes to what is available to us right here in California. It has made me want to save so I can wander to more places instead of spending it on a couple drinks or a new shirt. It made me want to become a better photographer and has taught me to choose outside over inside. This summer I have already made plans to venture to Mammoth, Big Sur, New York, and San Fransisco. And you can bet that my camera will be hanging around my neck.

Leave a comment